T.E.R:R.A.I.N - Taranaki Educational Resource: Research, Analysis and Information Network

Quercus (John Goodwin Oak Collection)

John Goodwin of New Plymouth was an internationally famous parks administrator. The John Goodwin's collection of oaks are growing on the Te Henui Walkway

An oak is a tree or shrub in the genus Quercus Latin "oak tree"), of which about 400 species exist. "Oak" may also appear in the names of species in related genera, notably Lithocarpus. The genus is native to the northern hemisphere and includes deciduous and evergreen species extending from cold latitudes to tropical Asia and the Americas. Oaks have spirally arranged leaves, with a lobed margin In many species; some have serrated leaves or entire leaves with a smooth margin. The flowers are catkins, produced in spring. The fruit is a nut called an acorn, borne in a cup-like structure known as a cupule, each acorn contains one seed (rarely two or three) and takes 6–18 months to mature, depending on species.

Quercus canariensis (Algerian Oak)

Quercus castanea (Castanea Oak)

Quercus coccinea (Scarlet Oak)    

Quercus dentata (Daimyo Oak)

Quercus imbricaria (Shingle Oak)

Quercus libani (Lenanon Oak)   

Quercus palustris (Pin oak)

Quercus robur (English Oak)

Quercus robur 'Fastigiata' (Fastigiata Oak) 

Quercus serrata (bao li)

Quercus serrata (Variety: Quercus serrata 'Aurea')   

Quercus variabilis (Chinese Cork Oak)