T.E.R:R.A.I.N - Taranaki Educational Resource: Research, Analysis and Information Network

Mosses (True)


Mosses, the most common, diverse and advanced brypophytes, are categorized into three classes:
Peat Mosses (Sphagnopsida),
Granite Mosses (Andreaopsida), and
"True" Mosses (Bryopsida or Musci).

Mosses are small, soft plants that are typically 1–10 cm  tall, though some species are much larger. They commonly grow close together in clumps or mats in damp or shady locations. They do not have flowers or seeds, and their simple leaves cover the thin wiry stems. At certain times mosses produce spore capsules which may appear as beak-like capsules borne aloft on thin stalks.


Breutelia elongata 

Breutelia pendula

Calyptopogon mnioides

Campylopus introflexus

Dawsonia suberba (Giant moss) 

Dendroligotrichum dendroides (Giant moss)

Dicranoloma (genus:)

Dicranoloma menziesii

Distichophyllum pulchellum var. pulchellum

Funaria hygrometrica  

Hypnodendron menziesii

Hypopterygium rotulatum (umbrella moss)  

Leptostomum macrocarpon (A Pincushion moss)

Leucobryum candidum (Cushion moss)  

Polytrichum (Genus) Harecap moss

Polytrichum juniperinum (Juniper haircap moss)

Polytrichadelphus magellanicus 

Pseudoscleropodium purum (European Feather moss)  

Ptychomnion aciculare (Pipe Cleaner moss

Racomitrium lanuginosum (Woolly moss)  

Sphagnum (Bog moss)

Tortella flavovirens, Yellow Crisp-moss  

Weymouthia mollis (Old man beard moss)