T.E.R:R.A.I.N - Taranaki Educational Resource: Research, Analysis and Information Network

Bristletails (Order: Archaeognatha)

Kingdom: Animalia
Phylum: Arthropoda
Subphylum: Hexapoda
Class: Insecta
Subclass: Monocondylia
Order: Archaeognatha
Common name: Jumping bristletails

Archaeognaths is an order of wingless insects consists of about 350 known species. They hide under bark, in litter, and in rock crevices, and feed on algae, lichens, and vegetable debris.
They are small insects with elongated bodies bent into an arch shape and three long tail-like structures, of which the middle filament is the longest. They are able to use these filaments to spring up to 30 cm into the air.
They have flexible antennae, large compound eyes that meet at the top of the head, and three ocelli (eyespot). Their mouthparts are partially retractable, with simple chewing mandibles and long maxillary palps.